high weir

September 3, 2008

Sine qua non*

Filed under: about — jstreed1476 @ 12:38 am

By way of Sean, a challenge to come up with 10 things you absolutely must know about me, to know me.

1. I’ve always lived in the eastern half of Iowa (except for my first 10 months, when I lived in Spain), and I expect to remain here for the rest of my life.

2. Technically, Waterloo is my new hometown, i.e I’ve lived here longer than anywhere else, and my kids are growing up here. But I’m very nostalgic for the Iowa City of my high-school years.

3. I experience buyer’s-remorse over things like the variety of rice I purchase. Getting a new car last year was, and continues to be, a source of agony.

4. I don’t own a cellphone or an iPod. The students who work for me do not believe me when I say this.

5. My co-workers are more likely to think I’m a data-driven, analytical thinker than that I was educated in the humanities department. I almost never talk about bookish things with people.

6. The poles of my imagination are Borges and Tolkien. Both makers of worlds, but very different in degree of elaboration.

7. I miss my mom, who died over 10 years ago, and I wish my dad and brother would move here.

8. Faithwise, what I know in my bones (Christ’s path the right path) and what I live in my life (American self-reliance) seem constantly at odds.

9. I have a hard time remembering that the things that drive me crazy about Clayton are his similarities to me at a given age. But it’s easy to remember that he’s delightful in his differences.

10. Candy is my better half.

*Bonus: I know Latin phrases, but not the language.

1 Comment »

  1. very nice post, J. thanks for playing along with my reindeer games :-)

    Comment by Sean Meade — September 3, 2008 @ 9:16 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

